Contact Council


 Councillors are elected to Hay Shire Council for a term of four years. The most recent elections were held September 2016, with Mayoral elections held September 2020

Cr Jenny Dwyer  – Mayor


Mobile : 0408629553


Cr David Townsend – Deputy Mayor


Mobile : ​0438610370

Cr Michael Rutledge



Mobile : ​0427267174

Cr Jasen Crighton



Mobile : ​​0428931768

Cr RW (Bill) Sheaffe



Mobile : ​0427975180 

Cr Robert Howard



Mobile : ​0417672432

Cr Peter Dwyer



Mobile : ​0417272684

Cr Kevin Walter



Mobile : ​0429629417

    Senior Staff

      Hay Shire Council's Senior Management Team

General Manager - David Webb

Email :

The General Manager reports directly to the Mayor and Councillors and is responsible for providing strategic leadership and support to the organisation. In addition to managing the three Directors and overseeing the day-to-day operations and communications of Council, the General Manager coordinates Council's Integrated Planning & Reporting Framework, including responsibility for community engagement, and development of the Community Strategic Plan, Delivery Program, Operational Plan, and Annual Report.  The Office of the General Manager provides support to the Mayor and Councillors and coordinates Council meetings, and manages Council’s Human Resources.

Director Corporate and Community Services – Mark Dowling


The Corporate and Community Services department is responsible for providing professional customer service to the residents of the Hay Shire region, ensuring the organisation remains financially sustainable, innovative and efficient in the way it does business. The department provides a range of services, including financial management, governance, information technology, Library, Hay Multi Service Outlet and the Centrelink agency.

Technical Services Department


The Technical Services department is responsible for delivering and maintaining infrastructure throughout the Hay Shire, including our sealed and unsealed road networks, footpaths and water and sewer infrastructure, as well as the overall management of infrastructure and assets that contribute to providing cost-effective, efficient and sustainable services to our community. The department also manages the John Houston Memorial Swimming Pool, the Hay Aerodrome, work health and safety, ranger services, waste services, maintains our open and public space, including parks and gardens, the cemetery and recreation reserves.

Director Planning and Development – Jack Terblanche


The Development and Planning Department is responsible for economic development; tourism promotion and the Visitor Information Centre; the asset management of Council’s buildings and assistance to S355 Committees with responsibility for assets, together with responsibility for submitting funding applications and project management.